Read a Bag It Fan Letter! – from Guest Blogger Jennie Ostrowski

To everyone associated with the making of ‘Bag It’,
Thank you! I just finished watching the movie and it hit so many great points! I started out the movie thinking it would only concentrate on plastic bags however what most people don’t think about is how just a simple plastic bag affects our ENTIRE world!!
I have been recycling for many years, but something that resonated with me in the film is that recycling isn’t enough. Yes, it is much better than throwing it away; however only a small amount of the products we recycle will get “recycled” into new plastic products (something I just found out through your film). The saying is “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle,” yet just like you all stated in the film, so many people feel better when they see the recycling symbol on a product they purchase. People skip the first two steps and automatically think of RECYCLE. Also, they may or may not end up recycling. This is a problem. However isn’t it better for us to not buy that product?
I have taken my commitment to becoming more earth friendly to another level this past week (before I even watched your film) by getting rid of all the chemically processed products in my household from cleaners, detergents, soaps, fragrances, lotions, etc., and have now begun making my own products and cleaning supplies.
I am 23 years old right now and I need to start thinking about my future, and the future of others. I plan to be on this earth for many more years to come, but I want to make sure that the ground I stand on and the air I breathe is healthy.
Your film not only touched on the process it takes for making plastic but also the effect of this process on the environment, from the wildlife, to our ecosystems and the lives of others who handle the products. Thank you so much for creating this amazing piece of work because I believe it needs to be seen by all humankind.
I am doing my part by taking action within my home and spreading the word to family and friends. If I ever come across an article or recipe related to eating healthier, locally grown food, finding recipes for making your own laundry detergent, what the effects of consuming all of this processed food and chemically ridden substances do to our bodies, or fantastic movies such as yours…I share it. That is the best thing we can do as a nation, and as humankind. Knowledge is power and we need to open our eyes to what is happening in our backyards.
Too many people do not want to see the truth because “ignorance is bliss”. I feel bad for them. In this nation, the United States of America, we are so brain washed from commercials, advertising and even people we are supposed to trust (like the government and big companies who produce these products and food items) that we don’t think twice about what we put on our bodies, or what we ingest. We need to wake up!
We have so many health problems, diseases, cancers, etc. Why? Is it the things we eat? Most definitely. The things we use? Yes. And yet why aren’t there bigger movements to get things changed?
Because of power and money. It’s so sad that this big companies would rather pay BIG money to hush someone up, cover something up, withhold information, or just keep quiet so consumers will still buy and consume their products so they can make more money. Do they not worry about their own health?!
Again, I just wanted to say thank you for creating such a wonderful film. I plan on watching it again and again, and spreading the word to everyone I know.
May you all have a wonderful and healthy future (even if that means by starting out making those changes for yourself — that hopefully will encourage others to take part too).
– Jennie Ostrowski
NOTE TO READERS:
“I come across many people telling me how they think eating healthy and being more eco-friendly is expensive and that just isn’t true. All people have to do is plan ahead, organize and research. Research the products you use and the effects on yourself and the environment. Research companies and their policies for how they treat their workers, their ‘product’ and the environment. Research and discover new ways to make products at home (like household cleaners, detergents, soaps, beauty/personal products, etc.)
What you’ll find is these products are safer AND cheaper. ‘When you know better you do better’ -Maya Angelou” – Jennie
JENNIE’S FAVORITE RECIPES:
Facial Cleanser:
-4 teaspoons unscented liquid castile soap (by Dr. Bronner’s)
-4 tablespoons water
-4 tablespoons glycerin
-1 cup olive oil
Combine all ingredients in a blender. You may add product to an old cleaned out empty pump bottle (reuse!) or with my love of mason jars, I took only the pump portion from the bottle and added it to my mason jar by cutting a hole in the lid and hot gluing it.
This is the original blog I found the recipe from: http://prairiecottagerose.blogspot.com/2012/01/homemade-face-wash.html
Here is the blog where I found the idea for creating a pump bottle out of a mason jar: http://theblissfullycontentlife.blogspot.com/2010/08/homemade-christmas-canning-jar-soap.html
Acne Mask:
-1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/2 tsp nutmeg
-1 tsp honey
-2 tsp juice from a lemon juice (not bottled lemon juice)
Combine all ingredients in a small resealable container and use right away after washing your face, or store in the fridge. I found that this recipe is good enough for about 4 masks, or at least a week if you use every other day.
Both of these recipes have remarkably cleared up my skin, and are not only good for my health but the environment as well. No harsh chemicals and everything is natural =) Oh and in case anyone was wondering the facial cleanser also doubles as a moisturizer! However, if someone feels they need a bit more, I found that using coconut oil is great!
About bagitmovie

Bag It is a documentary film following the world wide use of plastic bags, plastic's impact on the environment and human health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Read a Bag It Fan Letter! – from Guest Blogger Jennie Ostrowski

  1. fan letter says:

    Too many people do not want to see the truth because ‘ignorance is bliss’. Do they not worry about their own health?

Leave a Reply

