Happy Anniversary BAG IT! – compiled by Rebecca Mayer

We can hardly believe it’s only been a year since Bag It premiered in Telluride at Mountainfilm in 2010!  So much has happened since then – the spread of Bag It towns across the nation and world, community screenings, development of the Bag It curriculum guide, a special screening on Capitol Hill, etc.  We are thrilled and honored that so many of you have supported the effort with enthusiasm – Thank you!

To celebrate our one year anniversary, here’s an update from some of the Bag It peeps.  They answered the floowing questions:

1.  How has the issue of plastic pollution changed since the movie premiered last year?
2.  What has been the hardest thing for you personally to change in order to become more environmentally conscious?
3.  What is your best memory of the past year involving Bag It?

JEB BERRIER, Narrator

1. I don’t think the issue of plastic pollution has changed much but
awareness certainly has. I think people are more aware that we have a
serious problem, especially in the ocean, and that steps need to be taken.

2. Hardest thing for me is to stay on track with my son. Keeping the
amount of plastic toys, bowls, plates and bottles down to a reasonable
amount is tough. It’s a constant struggle for sure.

3. I think my best memory is getting a standing ovation at our Telluride
Mountainfilm premiere and getting a hug from Theo Colborn on stage while
she was crying because someone had finally been able to tell this story.

SUZAN BERAZA, Director

1.  We’ve got a long way to go, but I do feel like people are becoming much more aware and that the issues of plastic pollution have been getting more and more attention in the media. The days of single-use everything (I mean really … single-use plastic flosser tools!?) have got to stop! It is madness.

2. I often feel in a time crunch and don’t take public transportation of ride my bike as often as I should. That is my resolution for the summer, now that the snow has finally melted! 

3.  I would have to say that my best memory is a composite memory and that it is all of the emails that I get and Facebook messages saying that Bag It has changed their lives. I just never knew that the film would resonate with so many people. We are very blessed.

CASEY NAY, Editor

1. Someone else will answer that better.

2. The hardest thing for me is figuring out what is recyclable in different areas I visit. AHHHH! It gives me a headache. I never know what flies in which community, but my solution is to reduce my waste in general.

3. My best memories are mostly days in the studio with the team, but my favorite is when we went to Mountainfilm NYC. It was a great experience and such an honor to be invited.

MICHELLE HILL, Producer

(Far left in photo)

1.  I think the general public is much much more aware of the issue today then they were one year ago.  We hope Bag It has helped to raise the information bar, but there are so many organizations working to create this awareness and really we are all working together.

2.  Impulse shopping!
3.  Running all around NYC this Earth Day with 5 bag monsters and watching the monsters maul Tracey Morgan’s car near Time Square!  One of our monster volunteers said that he was her dream man.  I am sure he will never forget her.  Oh, and getting to work with the greatest team possible!

About bagitmovie

Bag It is a documentary film following the world wide use of plastic bags, plastic's impact on the environment and human health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

